top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureisthatlondon

The Murder Express by Funicular Productions

On Friday night, my hot date and I decided to take a little ride on the Murder Express. I know, sounds romantic! We had an amazing time though, and I would say it's a great experience for a date or going out with a group of your friends. For a dinner show, there's a surprising amount of social time as well, which was a pleasant surprise. SO, let me take you on my journey!



Our journey began at the Pedley Street Station platform in Bethnal Green. After showing our tickets to the staff, we were led onto the platform where our train was waiting to depart. While the train was being prepared for our journey, we grabbed some drinks at the bar and got to know some of the passengers we were travelling with.


We entered the train onto an amazingly realistic carriage! Set with large six people booths, the decor was straight from the early 1900s.


As we travelled, we watched the scenery roll past. (The screens add a fun element of travel to your journey and change often to keep you on your toes!)


We were served a gorgeous three course meal crafted by the BBC Masterchef finalists - Billy and Jack - during our ride on the Murder Express. Here's a little preview of the menu items!




The starter was Mulligatawny soup with an Indian spiced open cumber sandwich. This soup was actually my favourite dish of the night! The flavours were AMAZING! I chuckled at the nod to a cucumber sandwich, but it tasted like no cucumber sandwich I've ever tried! That thing packed a punch!




The meat eater option for the main dish was a butler's steak, stuffed pressed scallop potatoes, and savoy cabbage. This was my date's food, as I'm a veggie, but he reported back saying that it was really good! Also, interesting note if you don't know what a savoy cabbage is (because I sure didn't), there's even more meat in that cabbage roll!





The veggie option for the main dish was this delicious spring vegetable pithivier and seasonal vegetables. I was originally a bit jealous that I didn't get scalloped potatoes, I'm not going to lie, but these beauties won me over once I tried them! Also, in my veggie savoy cabbage, there was some lovely veg, including some lush asparagus.


WE INTERRUPT THIS FOOD MENU FOR A QUICK MURDER! Uh oh! Someone's been murdered, and now that we are all well fed and up to the job, we better figure out who this murderer is! There were some wild accusations flung about, I must say! We spoke to all the characters, but even after that my table couldn't agree. We ended up with a three way split that we fed back to the conductor, as we just couldn't pick.




Ok, back to food now! This is my apple tart with clotted cream. Isn't it so pretty? It's tasty too!
















So, wanna come check it out for yourself and solve the murder?! Just to let you know - I was wrong.... Can you do better than me? I think you can! Just be sure to leave your legal documents, poison, and candlesticks home for this journey!








The Murder Express with be making its journey from now until the 31st of July from Pedley Street Station (Bethnal Green). If you want to have a closer look check it out on: www.funicularproductions.com or book your tickets on https://www.funicularproductions.com/tickets

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page